Clearinghouse Rule 95-175



State of Wisconsin / OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE

Tommy G. Thompson Governor

Josephine W. Musser Commissioner January 11, 1996

121 East Wilson Street P.O. Box 7873 Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7873 (608)-266-3585 STATE OF WISCONSIN RECEIVED & FILED

1 1996

Acres .

DOU

SS

STATE OF WISCONSIN

OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE

I, Josephine W. Musser, Commissioner of Insurance and custodian of the official records, certify that the annexed rule affecting Section Ins 6.57(4), 6.58(5) and 6.59(4), Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the fees for listing insurance agents, fees for the renewal of corporation licenses and other licensing procedures, is duly approved and adopted by this Office on January 11, 1996.

I further certify that I have compared this copy with the original on file in this Office and that it is a true copy of the original, and the whole of the original.

> IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand at 121 East Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin, on January 11, 1996.

Josephine W. Musser Commissioner of Insurance

3-1-96 95-175



È.

ORDER OF THE OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE

AMENDING A RULE

To amend Ins 6.57 (4), 6.58 (5) (a) and 6.59 (4) (a) relating to the fees for listing insurance agents, fees for the renewal of corporation licenses and other licensing procedures.

ANALYSIS PREPARED BY THE OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE Statutory authority: ss. 601.41 (3) and 601.31 (1) (n), Stats. Statutes Interpreted: s. 628.11, Stats.

This change will increase the annual listing fees for resident agents from \$5.00 per year to \$8.00 per year and for nonresident agents from \$15.00 per year to \$24.00 per year. These changes will generate more revenue for OCI. The recent budget bill raised the limits to these amounts and the increased amounts were utilized in preparing OCI's current budget. The renewal fees for corporations are raised to the same level as individual intermediaries. Agents will be specifically required to give their current residence address when applying for a license. The time period that the CIB report is valid is increased from 90 to 180 days. SECTION 1. Section Ins 6.57 (4) is amended to read:

Ins 6.57 (4) Fees are applicable for annually listing of insurance agents under s. 628.11, Stats., are hereby established to be: Resident individual intermediary-agents \$ 5.00 \$ 8.00 Nonresident individual intermediary-agents \$15.00 \$24.00 SECTION 2. Section Ins 6.58 (5) (a) is amended to read:

Ins 6.58 (5) (a) Biennially, on or before January 1 of even numbered years, a regulation fee of \$10.00 <u>\$25.00</u> for resident and \$30.00 <u>\$50.00</u> for nonresident intermediaries, reinsurance intermediaries and managing general agents will be billed.

SECTION 3. Section Ins 6.59 (4) (a) and (am) is amended to read:

Ins 6.59 (4) (a) Application for resident intermediary agents. Application for a permanent resident agent license, an enlargement of authority or managing general agent authority shall be made on form OCI 11-041 (rev.) at the time of examination. A completed application consists of a completed OCI 11-041 (rev.) giving the current address for the residence of the applicant; an original certificate of prelicensing education dated not more than one year prior to the test date or an original exemption form as required in ch. Ins 26; an original Form DJ-LE-250 provided from the Wisconsin department of justice, crime information bureau, dated not more than 90 180 days prior to the test date; payment of the fees to the testing vendor; a photograph of the applicant taken by the test service at the time of testing; and any documentation required in answer to questions on the application.

(4) (am) Application for nonresident intermediary agents. Application for a permanent nonresident agent license or an enlargement of authority shall be made on form OCI 11-041N (rev.) and filed with the

ke.

office of the commissioner of insurance. A completed application consists of a completed OCI 11-041N (rev.) <u>giving the current address</u> for the residence of the applicant; an original certificate of licensing from the state of residence dated not more than 60 days prior to the application date; payment of the fees; and any documentation required in answer to questions on the application.

SECTION 4. This rule will take effect on the first day of the first month after publication, as provided in s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

Dated at Madison, Wisconsin, this <u>11th</u> day of January, 1996.

1. Musch 05

Josephine W. Musser Commissioner of Insurance

657rule.doc